[News] Kpopmagic interviews a kpop/hip hop artist “We r rising”

Posted: May 26, 2011 by Appy in Kpop
Tags: , , , , , ,

[News] Kpopmagic interviews a kpop/hip hop artist “We r rising”

Underrated and Upcoming:

These days it’s hard to keep track of all the artists that come out over inKorea. Each week there is at least 30 to 40 albums, singles, EPs, and mix tapes coming out that sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming. Do not fret though, Underrated and Upcoming is the article that will give you the lowdown on artists that may got lost in the shuffle.

This week in Underrated and Upcoming, I, DJ KLegend, has the exclusive email interview with Hip-Hop artist, Reddy. Reddy caught my attention while I was browsing youtube for new music. Upon listening to all of his songs off his mix tape Reddy or Die, I had to get in touch with him. After a few weeks had passed and myself already forgotten that I emailed him, I got a reply back. It was from a man who knew Reddy personally. Several exchanged emails later, we set up an email interview with the Reddy. I asked him a list of question getting to know him and what he did. His friend translated and this is how Reddy responded.

Me: How old are you?

 Reddy:  I was born in 1985, Korean age 27

Me: How many languages do you speak?

 Reddy: Korean, the one and only  

Me: When you were younger, what did you think of school? Did you like it? Did you hate it?

 Reddy: I didn’t see much of a future in high school so I dropped out and later took the GED then went to an art school.

Me: What made you decide to get into the music industry?

 Reddy: There wasn’t really much thought into it. I just wanted to so I made my own mix tape at home.

Me: With all the competition out there in K-Pop, what do you feel sets you apart from all the other artists?

 Reddy: my fashion sense? hahaha

Me: Who or what inspired you to do music?

 Reddy: I get my inspiration from movies, people I see on the street or meet, my parents, and church.

Me: What’s currently playing on your iPod/mp3 player? Any favourite bands or artists?

 Reddy: I enjoy listening to Wiz Khalifa, Curren$y and J cole, but right now my songs that I’m recording is being played on my ipod. 

Me: Do you write your own lyrics? How do you feel about people who don’t write their own lyrics?

 Reddy: Of course, because its Hip-Hop I write my own lyrics. For other genres I don’t think it matters whether you write ur own lyrics or not but if we’re talking about Hip-Hop its different. Is there anybody who claims to make Hip-Hop music but doesn’t write their own lyrics? I think that’s like saying kimchi is good without even trying it.

Me: What’s better, collaborations or solos? Why?

 Reddy: For now I grab every opportunity that comes my way. But it’s mostly solo because I work by myself. I have no problem working with friends who share the same ideas. 

Me: What made you decide to use the instrumental of Justin Timberlake’s song “Cry me a river” for your song “The Relationship”? What does the song mean?

 Reddy: While searching for beats, I randomly found it. I felt that it’d make a good match with what I was trying to portray.

Me: What are your long term goals for your music?

Reddy: First of all, moving back to Seoul, and my long term goal is of course to be on top of the game.

Me: If you could work with anyone in the world on a song or album, who would they be? And why?

 Reddy: I’d love to work with Pharrell. He is very talented and witty. and also has a very dope sense of fashion.

Me: What do you enjoy doing on your off time when you aren’t making your music?

 Reddy: I usually watch movies, go on shopping, or draw in my spare time.

Me: What does your family think about your music?

 Reddy: My parents are one of my biggest supporters.

Me: Are there any places you would like to travel to?

 Reddy: I’d love to travel to America. 

Me: As an artist trying to make your name in the music industry inKorea, what do you think the fascination of going toAmerica and putting music out here is like for other Korean artists?

Reddy: I’d love the write my own lyrics in English and I want to be succesful.

Me: What has been the most successful or memorable moment in your career in music thus far?

Reddy: I feel like it’s only getting started. I believe its way too early to think of memorable moments.

Me: Could you ever see yourself doing anything else besides music?

Reddy: I used to go to art school and painted. Sometimes I do wonder what would have happened if I followed the path of painter, but I like what I’m doing now and I believe it fits me very well.

Me: Where can people purchase your music?

 Reddy: It isn’t for sale now. You can check out my mix tape on Youtube.com/cohortseoul

Me: Is there a way fans and or listeners could follow you, such as: Facebook, twitter, tumblr?

Reddy: follow twitter @reddyordie and search “Kim Hongwoo Reddy” on Facebook.

Me: Lastly, what’s next in your music career that people should be on the look out for, from you?

Reddy: I’m currently working on a mix tape right now which I’m trying to be done by August. Be reddy for it. I’m going to be making more mix tapes and doing more shows. Thanks for the Interest and you should keep an eye out for me in the future.

As you can see Reddy is doing his best get all of his music out there. Make sure you go check out his youtube channel and friend him on facebook. Until next time everyone, this is DJ KLegend w/ Underrated and Upcoming.

Credits: www.all-out-kpop.webs.com  for doin this interview for us HostKLegend u r great

Comments
  1. DJ KLegend says:

    Thanks man, appreciate it. More interviews to come!

Leave a Reply

