[Interview] Underrated and Upcoming(new interview uploaded)

Posted: June 25, 2011 by Appy in Kpop
Tags: , ,

[Interview] Underrated and Upcoming.

 

 

This week in Underrated and Upcoming, I got the chance to interview one of my favorite female rappers, Sinae Kim aka Kimm from the former Korean duo Hip-Hop group X’GiRLz. Not just blessed with astounding looks, she is fierce on mic and has a great voice. She’s now currently in the amazing Hip-Hop crew New Block Babyz. You all may remember these guys; they came out back in December 2010 with the song “New Block”.

During this interview I got to know her a little bit better personally, talk to her about her music career, and future plans. This is how the interview went down.

 

Me: How old are you?

Kimm: 27 years old.

Me: How many languages do you speak?

Kimm: Korean, Russian and little English, so three in total.

Me: When you were younger what did you think of school? Love it? Hate it?

Kimm: When I was in high school, I didn’t like school but when I grew up,I started to love it.

Me: What is your favorite kind of meal to eat when you’re at home or at a restaurant?

Kimm: Hm…hahaha almost everything~!!!

Me: What kind of clothes do you like to wear? Comfortable? Fashionable? Both?

Kimm: Both~depends where I’m going~

Me: Have any special talents?

Kimm: I can play piano~ and I think I can speak Russian well.

Me: For all the listeners and fans out there, who don’t know, please tell them who are your crew and what are their names?

Kimm: My crew’s name is New Block Babyz and it’s made of 10 artists: Young’n from a group called Answer, NewChamp, Wutan, Gimm, Zinsuk, Qwala, Kazuky, Nusoul, and me (Kimm).

Me: How did you become part of New Block Babyz?

Kimm: We were friends and we all love music. So, since we all did music together, I decided to join.

Me: What made you decide to go into the music industry?

Kimm: I couldn’t leave music alone. Without music, I feel empty. Even though many people have said this, “music is my life.” It truly is, so I pursued it as a career.

Me: You were in a duo called X’GiRLz with Lady Luna, what was that like? Was it everything you thought it would be?

Kimm: Actually, I did a duo with Vanilla and Lady Luna only featured in one of our songs. Lady Luna is also our friend and she helped us to make a song. But sadly, after our first album, we stopped working together because our style of music was different; we are still good friends though~

Me: X’GiRLz came out back in 2009. Listeners and Fans haven’t seen you back around in the music scene, what happen?

Kimm: Our company had economic problems, so they closed down.. We were disappointed because of it.

Me: What do you feel is better in music, collaborations or solos? Why?

Kimm: Working in collaborations is good, but if I could, I prefer to do a solo. But since I’m working with my crew, it doesn’t really matter anymore; doing music makes me happy.

Me: What are some of your long term goals for the future at the moment?

Kimm: If I could, my goal would be making music that everyone, including myself, could enjoy; and I’ll try my best. Truthfully, it’s hard to do music right now but I would just continue working as an artist no matter what. Doesn’t people say “music is a language that everyone understands”? I definitely agree with this statement.

Me: If you could work with anyone in the world on a song or album, who would they be and why?

Kimm: There are too many amazing artists in the world, so it’s really hard to decide one artist. I can’t personally say “I like this specific artist.”

Me: When you aren’t busy with work what do you like to do in your spare time?

Kimm: I like to read books while drinking coffee, and listening to music while writing lyrics. Writing lyrics are like a making a friend because if I start with one, more “friends” come with it.

Me: What does your family think about you and your music career?

Kimm: They didn’t want me to pursue my music career at first. Even today they don’t really fully support me, but they don’t mind me doing music now.

Me: Are there any places you would like to travel to?

Kimm: I want to go to the beach and get a tan~ haha.

Me: What’s currently playing on your iPod/mp3 player?

Kimm: I’m currently listening to the new song that my crew and I made. I like all hip-hop artists, but I especially like Jay’Z. But these days I listen to Nicki Minaj.

Me: There seems to be a trend with Korean musicians that want to strike out to the American music market. As an artist yourself; what are some of your thoughts on Korean musicians wanting to contribute to the American music business?

Kimm: Expanding music to different places seems great. You get a taste of different styles of music from different places in the world~ Even though the language is different, wouldn’t it be amazing if people still get touched by the song?

Me: Currently what would be the most successful or memorable moment in your music career thus far?

Kimm: I think featuring in Norazo’s “Calling you” was the most memorable moment for me. That was the biggest performance for me.

Me: Could you see yourself doing anything else besides music for a job?

Kimm: I’m interested in fashion. I like matching clothes because it’s similar to music because different style of music is different style of clothes.

Me: Do you plan on coming back into the studio to lay down more tracks for a return of X’GiRLz or a solo in the near future?

Kimm: It’s hard to return as X’GiRLz but I might comeback as a solo. Also, New Block Babyz’ album is almost coming out, so please listen. ^-^

Me: If listeners and fans want to follow you or get in contact with you where can they do that? Facebook? Twitter? Tumblr? Cyworld?

Kimm: (I’m more focused on my crew. Since our new album will come out, please support us.)

Cyworld: http://www.cyworld.com/insiel

Facebook: search name as Sinae Kim or http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000659321747

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/kimmdoublem

New Block Babyz: http://club.cyworld.com/ClubV1/Home.cy/53892869

Me: Lastly, some quick off the top of your head answers to these quick question

 

–        Me: Hot or cold?

Kimm: Cold (coffee)

 

–        Me: Wet or Dry?

Kimm: Wet (hair)

 

–        Me: Public Transportation or Personal Car?

Kimm: Personal Car

 

–        Me: Save some money or save the earth?

Kimm: Save the money haha.

 

–        Me: Classy or sexy?

Kimm: Both

 

–        Me: Sky diving or Bungee Jumping?

Kimm: Sky diving

 

–        Me: Beer or Hard Liquor?

Kimm: Beer

 

–        Me: Eating or sleeping?

Kimm: Sleeping

 

Me: Alright Kimm this concludes the interview. Thanks again for being such a good sport about this and best of luck to you in all your future endeavors.

It was unfortunate to hear that X’GiRLz most likely won’t come back, but New Block Babyz new album is set to release in the coming months. With that news I’m pretty excited. I do hope that Kimm does decide to do a solo single, that’d be pretty dope.

Make sure all of you go check out the links provided at the bottom and support her and her awesome crew, New Block Babyz. So until the next article, this is DJ KLegend keeping you informed with Underrated and Upcoming.

 

Cyworld:

http://www.cyworld.com/insiel

Facebook: search name as Sinae Kim or http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000659321747

Twitter:

http://www.twitter.com/kimmdoublem

New Block Babyz

http://club.cyworld.com/ClubV1/Home.cy/53892869

Credits & Source : Dear friend HostKlegend ur no.1 …. suppirt his radio plz  http://www.blogtalkradio.com/klegend/2011/06/24/k-pop-appetizer-15

 

Leave a Reply

